In Germany, jurisdiction is shared between the authorities at federal (Bundestag) and state (Landtag) level, as well as the local authorities (Kreistag [county council], Stadtverordnetenversammlung [city assembly] and Gemeindevertretung [municipal council]).

Examples of issues dealt with by the Brandenburg Landtag are schools and nurseries, the police, the courts and penal system, economic development, transport infrastructure and consumer protection.

The members of the Landtag elect the Minister-President. He defines the guidelines for government policy and leads the Land administration together with his ministers. The Landtag monitors the work of the government. The members also decide on the Land budget.


Die Landtagspräsidentin

The President chairs the State Parliament. She upholds the dignity and rights of the Landtag, promotes its work and conducts the negotiations justly and impartially. She also represents the parliament to the outside and presides over the plenary meetings.

Presiding Committee

The Presiding Committee of the 7th Brandenburg Landtag. From left to right: Thomas Domres, DIE LIN-KE party; Daniel Keller, SPD party; Rolf-Peter Hooge, AfD party; Erik Stohn (retired, new since November 2021 Ludwig Scheetz), SPD party; Landtag Vice-President Barbara Richstein, CDU party; Landtag President Prof. Dr. Ulrike Liedtke, SPD party; Landtag Vice-President Andreas Galau, AfD party; Sahra Damus, BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN party; Steffen Kubitzki, AfD party; Dr. Jan Redmann, CDU party und Péter Vida, BVB / FREIE WÄHLER party

The Presiding Committee consists of the President, the Vice-President and representatives from every parliamentary group. It supports the President in the completion of business and mediates so as to bring about agreement between the parliamentary groups.


The Plenary Chamber of the Landtag Brandenburg

In parliamentary language, the word plenum (from the Latin for “full space”) is taken to mean an assembly of all members. The plenum, which is formed from the entirety of all the Members of the Landtag, is the focus and the symbol of parliamentary democracy.


Members of the Landtag Brandenburg in the Plenary Chamber

The seventh Landtag Brandenburg consists of 88 Members who were elected to serve a five-year term in the Landtag in 2019 by voters in 44 electoral districts and by means of lists of candidates at Land level. The Members monitor the work of the government.

Parliamentary Groups

Parliamentary Groups in the Landtag Brandenburg

Parliamentary groups are alliances of at least four members of the Landtag who belong to the same party, political union or joint list of proposed candidates. They participate in the work of the Landtag as autonomous and independent structures with their own rights and duties.

Committees and Bodies

Committee meeting

Committees and certain other special bodies play an important role in legislating and controlling the government and are at the heart of the parliamentary work. They prepare the decisions of the Landtag in terms of its content. The Members debate possible amendments to draft bills.



Legislation is a source of law which regulates the co-existence of the members of a state-run community. Bills may be brought before parliament by Members of the Landtag, the Land government and the residents of the Land through Popular Initiatives and Petitions to Initiate Legislation.

Parliamentary Papers

Parliamentary Papers

The laws passed by the Landtag Brandenburg are published in the Official Gazette for the Land of Brandenburg and thus promulgated. The Parliamentary Documentation allows searches to be made for documents without having to state the actual document number or date of a debate.


Administration of the Landtag

The Administration of the Landtag is a service provider for the parliament and the citizens of the Land of Brandenburg. Its key task is to ensure that the parliamentary business runs as smoothly as possible and to create the organisational conditions for enabling the work of the Members of Parliament.