In the plenum

Members have agreed on procedural arrangements for the plenary session in the Rules of Procedure of the *Landtag*. The *Landtag* President or his representative presides over the meeting to ensure that the rules are duly observed. Two members assist him as recording clerks. The following basic procedure is followed for the plenary session:

1. News hour ('Aktuelle Stunde')

The members discuss a current political topic in depth. The right of petition alternates between the parliamentary groups.

2. Question time

The duty of the *Land* government to answer questions from members helps to monitor the work done by the *Land* administration. This gives members of the *Landtag* the opportunity to air any grievances in public at short notice.

3. Reading of draft bills

Priority is given to laws on which a final vote is needed after being debated by the committees. Newly introduced draft bills are then dealt with.

4. Major interpellations and reports by the *Land* **government** The *Land* **government** reports on a subject in detail. The report is then discussed in the plenum.

5. Motions and independent motions for a resolution

By using motions, the parliament attempts to move the *Land* government towards a specific course of action. Opposition groups often use motions to make it clear that, should they come to power, they would implement the measures in question in a different way to the government.

The **speech times** are commensurate with the sizes of the parliamentary groups. Extra time is given to someone introducing a subject for debate. Only the *Land* government may exceed speech times. All parliamentary groups are then given the opportunity to speak again.

Parliamentary groups

The members of a party form a parliamentary group. Groupings enable members to specialise in certain subjects and give structure to the work done by parliament. The parliamentary groups forming the government are the coalition government, whilst the remaining groups represent the opposition.

The Land government

The members of the *Landtag* elect the Minister-President. He defines the guidelines for government policy and leads the *Land* administration together with his ministers. The *Land-tag* monitors the work of the government. The members also decide on the *Land* budget. During the fifth legislative period, the *Land* government is supported by the SPD and DIE LIN-KE parliamentary groups. Dr. Dietmar Woidke, SPD, became Minister-President in August 2013.



Landtag Brandenburg Alter Markt 1, 14467 Potsdam

Telephone 0331 966-0 Fax 0331 966-1210 post@landtag.brandenburg.de www.landtag.brandenburg.de

Status: February 19, 2014



Fifth legislative term 2009–2014



The Land parliament

The fifth Landtag Brandenburg consists of 88 members who were elected to serve a five-year term in the Landtag in 2009 by voters in 44 electoral districts and by means of lists of candidates at Land level. In Germany, jurisdiction is shared between the authorities at federal (Bundestag) and state (Landtag) level, as well as the local authorities (Kreistag [county council], Stadtverordnetenversammlung [city assembly] and Gemeindevertretung [municipal council]). Examples of issues dealt with by the Brandenburg Landtag are schools and nurseries, the police, the courts and penal system, economic development, transport infrastructure and consumer protection.

The legislative process



The fundamental principles of draft bills are discussed during the first reading. Politicians then debate possible amendments in expert committees whose meetings are open to the public. They listen to the representatives of interest groups at the same time. The laws, including any amendments, are then approved or rejected by all the members in the plenum.

